Wild Iris was one of the first watercolor on tissue paper paintings I did.  My watercolor on tissue process has really inauspicious beginnings.  I had received a gift wrapped & insulated with soooo much tissue paper I couldn’t bear to throw it away, so I set it aside in a drawer.  Sometime later I read an article about ancient Zen monks who, as part of a meditation ritual, would crumple a piece of rice paper, then smooth it, then stare at the white surface in meditation until an ‘image’ appeared to them….I thought of how it was kind of like seeing images or shapes in clouds, and I started to think how it would be interesting to emphasize the image with color and shading, etc…and I began my experimentation that lead me to finding images with watercolor on tissue paper.   See more of my original art at http://www.lynnefrenchdesigns.com

