I knew a highly successful photographer who automatically squinted at things he really wanted to ‘see’….One of the most talented artists I’ve known had severely flawed vision, but painted beautiful, accurate portraits and landscapes…..Very unlike the Zen inspired watercolor on tissue painting where every swirl of tissue is scrutinized in sharp focus, I look through a blur with un-focused vision without realizing it, almost reflexively, when painting impressionist landscapes because it allows me to get the view from a galloping horse…..a fast ride by…a brief impression.  It’s an effective tool to edit unwanted detail or unpleasant visuals in an otherwise pleasing scene.   Shown are two impressionist plein air California landscape paintings, Summer Garden, and Eucalyptus Path.  See more of my work for sale at http://www.lynnefrenchdesigns.com

