While painting en plein air recently, an afternoon Zephyr came up, blowing some micro bits of leaf and other matter onto the wet paintings I had done.  I removed the seedhead fluff, and leaf particles that I could, but a few stray pieces did remain.  I wondered what reaction this might cause when the paintings were put up for sale.   Perspective will determine whether the seedhead fluff and leaf bits would be thought of as debris, or treasured mementos of the painting being done outside on location.     My late husband’s family owned a Ralph Blakelock tonalist painting.    Blakelock painted it on a piece of now decaying linoleum type flooring he had peeled off the floor of a mental asylum while institutionalized for schizophrenia in the early 20th century.   To a collector/investor, this enhanced the value and charm of owning it…..to a friend of mine who was unfamiliar with Blakelock, this seemed weird.   I suspect I should go over my two paintings with a fine tooth comb and get every speck of debris off that I can, because I’m pretty sure that’s how it will be viewed :}   Shown here are a couple of impressionist landscape oil paintings…minus debris or mementos…. see more of my work for sale on Etsy at www.lynnefrenchdesigns.com

